New York, New York

I tried desperately not to be a typical cliche tourist with wide-eyed, open-mouthed, and camera-clutching excitement…But I think I am allowed to be that way at least for the first week of living in New York.

This is the first time I have ever visited the city before and it truly made me feel like this is the place for me. I loved the diversity of the people, all the great (and surprisingly cheap) restaurants with all kinds of cuisines from around the world, and how unique everyone was – no one was scared to rock MC Hammer pants, a crop top, and purple lipstick in the daytime. It made me really want to take a lot more style risks. There was also a lot more greenery than I thought there would be which made the transition from Grand Rapids to NYC a lot easier. The Gramercy area is wonderful because it feels so massive but at the same time so small with its constant liveliness and tree-lined streets and parks.

Side note: I finally had my first meal in NY (besides a small breakfast at 4:40AM) around 2 at a place called Hotel Tortuga. It’s kind of a hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant that is one small room and no A/C but I loved it. I had the chicken mole burrito and it was delicious! They also have an unlimited self-serve chips and salsa mini-bar.  To the left is a picture I found of Hotel Tortuga.

I start interning with Relevent on Tuesday and I am looking very much forward to it. They do excellent work with incredible clients (Jeep, Gilt, Madewell, Stoli, Heineken, Victoria’s Secret, BBW, and I barely scratched the surface). Every time I read a press release or a story about an event Relevent did or a campaign they’ve been working on, it makes me proud to say I will be interning there. There are four different departments and I believe I will be learning which one I am assigned to on Tuesday. I cannot wait to finally dive into some challenging work and become more familiar with experiential marketing and event production. I also hope to shadow a few alumni in public relations while I am in NY if that is possible as well so I can further narrow down my career path prior to senior year. I really have a liking for all three branches so far, and experiential marketing in particular grabs my attention because it focuses on literally taking an existing brand’s tenants and signatures and breathing it into life. The hope is that these events can further instill the brand’s story and loyalty to the attendees/participants.

On my flight from Gerald R. Ford Int’l Airport to Newark, a couple flying to Alaska and I were chatting about my internship quite a bit. I think they took a liking to me and gave me contact information of someone who is a higher up executive in an advertising company here in Manhattan. It just goes to show that as long as you are sincere and kind to others, you can always network – no matter where you are or what time it is… my flight was at 6:20AM!

Leave a Reply

