School is in Session!

The school year has come back in full swing. October is underway and my first exam and first paper of the semester have come and gone. Does the rest of senior year go by this fast?

Now that I have a moment to reflect, I am very pleased with how the semester is going. Sigma Kappa (the Alpha Mu chapter here at the University of Michigan) welcomed 60 brand new sisters in September after a month-long formal recruitment process, where I was given a grand-heart-sister to add to my lineage (pictured below with my heart sister, Katie). I am looking forward to having a grandlittle come November!

September also represented a huge time of change for the Michigan Association of Communication Studies (MACS). As the newly elected president this year, I knew I had large shoes to fill from former presidents. My main goals for this year included:  raising awareness for the organization’s focus and benefits, improving the MACS membership experience, and increasing attendance at our events. I also hoped to collaborate more with other student organizations in bringing in great speakers.

For fall recruitment, we marketed through the Communication Studies department and visited introductory Communication Studies classes to make brief announcements. MACS also participated in Festifall, which is a day-long gathering of all the student organizations at the University of Michigan. It’s essentially like speed dating – we have about 10 seconds to pitch to passersby and hope that we can convince them our club has the most benefits for them. A combination of all three recruitment efforts led to an extremely successful mass meeting with 80+ attendees and free pizza! Since then, we have held recruiting and networking events with Radio Disney, Target Corporation, Starcom Mediavest, and Red Frog Events. We have also upped both our Twitter and our Facebook following by over 60+ followers in each platform in a little over a month. 

MACS now has 400+ members and a brand new attendance policy to enrich our undergraduates’ professional development. We even were featured today in The Michigan Daily today to help spread the word! Events scheduled this semester include visits with alumni from Google and Leo Burnett Agency, a lecture from Lora Parlove (Professor at the College for Creative Studies) on how to transition from school into entry-level jobs, as well as an Entertainment Career Forum featuring some of the industry’s best talent agents, screenwriters, and producers. My personal favorite event being held this semester is our Internship Panelwhere undergraduates with great internship experiences discuss peer-to-peer on how they got their internship, what they learned, and any advice they have to offer. I think this is the most beneficial event we have scheduled for undergrads because all the panelists can relate directly to the audience and address issues in a more casual setting.

Last, but certainly not least, I got an unexpected (but incredible) invite to help with Relevent (my summer internship employer) at the Budweiser: Made in America Music Festival in Philadelphia. As a senior at the University of Michigan, one would think I would not pass up the first big weekend of welcome week for anything – but a trip to Philadelphia (somewhere I’ve never been) with incredible people from my internship to work for a whole weekend was impossible to say no to! I flew out two days after I received the invite to help out and spent the weekend at the festival helping them with a client’s brand activation there. It was a great learning experience to work on-site and behind the scenes of such a large and enduring event. I am very happy I went and worked hard with a team I am constantly impressed by and admire. Did I mention as a reward, we all got to see Jay-Z in VIP? Almost died and went to heaven.

This semester has been busy, but one that is shaping up to be the most exciting of all. A lot of new firsts are happening as I enter adulthood and a lot of  goals I have laid out are itching to be tended to. I hope everyone is ready to join me for the ride. I have never felt more blessed in my life.

Leave a Reply

